top of page

International Conference

Sustenance and Visibility

ACADEMIC Librarianship in the 21st Century

Skill Enhancement in the context of NEP 2020

June 19-21, 2023
Gulbarga University
The Conference

International Conference

The origin of librarianship lies in the creation of libraries and the profession was created to serve the needs of the institution and its clientele. Librarianship is a noble and thriving profession, although faced with challenges as a result of the electronic transformation of professional life. It is  a profession facing a crisis of identity as a result of the changing nature of Information and Communication Technologies, including the access to electronic resources, the altering scholarly publishing paradigm, and the abundance of free, although often unfiltered, information via the world wide web. Considering that LIS is an evolving and hybrid field, it is appropriate to examine and visualize the dimensions of librarianship from various disciplinary perspectives. The elements of professionalism within librarianship are need to be addressed focusing upon challenges to informational asymmetry and the perception of professional value. Keeping these aspects of Librarianship, an International Conference has been planned to provide an academic platform to discuss, debate and deliberate the changing dimensions of Librarianship as a profession and to visualize or envisage the future of the profession in the 21st Century.

Lilach Gradient

Gulbarga University, Kalaburagi


Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Bhavan

Gulbarga University, Kalaburagi, Karnataka

Gulbarga University was established in 1980 by an Act of Karnataka State in sprawling campus of 860 acres offering Masters, Doctoral and PG Diploma course in 37 departments. The Department was established in 1979-80 as part of Post Graduate Center, Gulbarga, Karnatak University, Dharwad. Later when the PG Center, Gulbarga was raised to an Independent University on 10th September 1980, the Post Graduate Department formed part of Gulbarga University, Gulbarga. The Department started one year BLISc course in 1979-80. Master of Library and Information Science (MLISc) of one-year duration was started during 1985-86, Master of Philosophy (MPhil) in Library and Information Science program of one year (Full Time) or twenty-two months (Part Time) was introduced in 1988. The Doctoral (Ph.D.) program in Library and Information Science is in force since the beginning. It was during 1997-98, the Department introduced Two Year's Integrated MLISc program (Annual Scheme)  in place of one year BLISc and one year MLISc. Later, MLISc course of two years under Semester was introduced in the academic year 2003-04. MLISc program under Semester cum CBCS and CAGP was introduced from 2010-11 onwards.

Purple Sky
Organised By

Organised By

Chief Patron

Chief Patron & Patrons

Chief Patron

download (6).jpg

Prof. Dayanand Agasar
Vice Chancellor, GUK



Dr. B. Sharanappa


Registrar, GUK.


Prof. M. P. Singh


SLA (Asia)


Dr Satishkumar H. Director, Dept of Public Libraries,GoK

download (7).jpg

Te Paea Paringatai IFLA Chair

New Zealand

Gradient Background


Blue Surface


Proud to bring inspirational speakers from across the globe


Contact Us
Mobile Phone

Contact Us


  1. Mr. Ajayakumar         -   9880160042

  2. Sri G. Ramayya          -   9845838376

  3. Dr. Malavika G. Bhat -   6363498773

  4. Dr. Savitri Krishna      -   9902232319

  5. Smt. Basamma          -   7975490832

  6. Dr. Amoji D.S.            -   9986347643

  7. Dr. Aravind B.            -   9740477545

  8. Dr. Kaveri Kamble     -   7204976054

  9. Dr. Parmanand          -   9844116650

  10. Dr. Ambaraya Malage - 9964157343

  11. Dr. Raghvendra B.    -    9845317939

  12. Mr. Maruti D.            -    9480377440


  1. Dr. Rajashree                    -  8095232564

  2. Dr. Vinodkumar H.           -  9740813482

  3. Mr. Deepak Goud            -  9036378169

  4. Dr. Seema Alur                 -  9986130390

  5. Dr. Shilpa Uploankar        -  9482891519

  6. Dr. Rakesh                        -  9891940750

  7. Dr.Prakash Wagmore      -  9900443390

  8. Dr. Santosh Harwal          -  9880241024

  9. Mr. Nagraj Devathkal      -  9844755525

  10. Dr. Yallappa Gonwar       -  9902092873

  11. Ms. Laxmi Kattimani       -  7892563313

  12. Mr.Basavaraj Malipatil    -  9036500390


  1. Dr. Pranesh Moolbharati  -  9739266682

  2. Dr. Dakulge Mehtab         -  9482147109

  3. Dr. Vijaykumar B                -  9901407956

  4. Dr Rajkumar  T                  -  9632641408

  5. Dr. Danappa Vaggi           -  9342332466

  6. Dr. Rajkumar V                  -  9740465385

  7. Dr. Shoukat Ali                  -  9886508975

  8. Mr. Lokesh Mavin             -  9611471989

  9. Ms. Maremma                  -  9844953745

  10. Dr. Yeknath Kamble         -  9964492711

  11. Mr. Shivsharanappa D.B. -  9035800150

  12. Mr. Shivling Savalgi         -  7760226506

bottom of page